The Power Line Challenge to Peter Gleick

Russ Steele

John Hinderaker, a Lawyer at the Power Line blog, has a challenge for Peter Gleick.

. . . Let me be perfectly clear: I think it is obvious that Peter Gleick fabricated this document–the only one he posted that makes the Heartland Institute look bad–because the real ones he stole from Heartland didn’t serve his partisan purpose. Or, if he didn’t make it up himself, he got it from an ally who fabricated it. No knowledgeable person could mistake Gleick’s hoax for a legitimate top-secret Heartland memo.

So, Peter Gleick: if I am wrong, sue me. If I am right, apologize for fabricating a document and attempting to perpetrate a hoax, and retire from public life.

And let me just add this warning: litigation is a two-way street. If you sue me, I get to take your deposition under oath. If you lie again, you can go to jail. I get to subpoena your telephone records and find out exactly whom you have been talking with, when and for how long. I get to examine the hard drives of your computers and reconstruct every email you have ever sent or received, especially those that you have deleted. I get to depose third party witnesses under oath. If someone other than you faked the Heartland memo, I can get his testimony, under penalty of perjury. I can trace the development of every Word document you have ever had a hand in creating, and I can identify the precise moment when you converted it to PDF and posted it on the internet in hopes of embarrassing Heartland. So, Peter Gleick: if you are afraid to sue me, then admit that you are a liar and a hoaxer and slink away in shame.

Exit Question:  Do you think that Peter Gleick will sue, or admit he fabricated the fake Heartland Memo?

About Russ Steele
Freelance writer and climate change blogger. Russ spent twenty years in the Air Force as a navigator specializing in electronics warfare and digital systems. After his service he was employed for sixteen years as concept developer for TRW, an aerospace and automotive company, and then was CEO of a non-profit Internet provider for 18 months. Russ's articles have appeared in Comstock's Business, Capitol Journal, Trailer Life, Monitoring Times, and Idaho Magazine.

4 Responses to The Power Line Challenge to Peter Gleick

    • Russ says:

      Dave,
      I do not think that he admitted to creating the fake memo that was the most damaging to Heartland. Who wrote the memo is an open question that many bloggers are pursuing.

  1. Dixon Cruickshank says:

    he only admitted the hoax to hope the memo part would go away – Mosher had him pinned on that already which prompted the disclosure

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

