Mr Keachie spies on the GOP

Russ Steele

Our erstwhile liberal commenter posted a comment on a local lefty blog. It appears that Mr Keachie did a GOP Picnic drive-by,  and then posted this comment.

 On sock puppets.

 The local GOP had a BBQ at Condon Park last Saturday, with Lougue and LaMalfa in attendance as speakers. I’ve long been curious about what the local middle of the road, GOP loyalists, who choose to afford the $25 admission, would have for bumper stickers.

Now I can understand no McCain/Palin 2008 stickers still on the shiny well-polished expensive cars (about 60 of them) in the parking lot, including no less than three (3) Toyota Prius Hybrids, but i did not see even ONE NCGOP sticker, not one sticker for either of the elected representatives in attendance, either. Their bumpers were bare of political affilation adornment.

There were, of course, three cars which could not have been associated with the picnic. They had Tea Party Patriot bumper stickers.

For you fledgling social scientists, pick any 20 cars in the county at random. How many Tea Party bumper stickers can you find?

Now of course I did not spring for the $25, but, conveniently, one of their members did. Guess what was being sold inside the compound?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nevadacountygop/6087398479/in/set-72157627534691654

Since I was at the Picnic I would like to share a few thoughts on Mr Keachie’s drive-by. First he misspells Dan Logue’s name. As for the lack of McCain bumper stickers. There was no strong support for Mr McCain in Nevada County and unlike some of our local libers with their Obama/Biden bumper stickers, Republican wash their cars several times a year. The car wash took off my Prop 23 bumper stickers the second time through.  As for the table of auction items shown in the photo, these are all donated gifts for fund raising. I do not think there was a litmus test for the donations. Maybe the Democrats have a litmus test. Republicans are more open, more accepting of many points of view.  And, I do not think that Republicans are against Fiscal Responsibility, Limited Government, Free Markets, Respect for our Constitution and Bill of Rights. Maybe Mr Keachies and his fellow Democrats are, since he makes the case for Tea Party sock puppets. Who are the puppets?

Do you agree with Mr. Keachie, that the person organizing the auction should have rejected the Tea Party donation? If the auction organizer had done so, would that action have been considered sock puppet discrimination by Mr Keachie?

About Russ Steele
Freelance writer and climate change blogger. Russ spent twenty years in the Air Force as a navigator specializing in electronics warfare and digital systems. After his service he was employed for sixteen years as concept developer for TRW, an aerospace and automotive company, and then was CEO of a non-profit Internet provider for 18 months. Russ's articles have appeared in Comstock's Business, Capitol Journal, Trailer Life, Monitoring Times, and Idaho Magazine.

10 Responses to Mr Keachie spies on the GOP

  1. Barry Pruett says:

    Are you kidding? I do not even have time to go to the NC Rep BBQ let alone spy on another one. If the liberals are stalking the local GOP, they must be nervous…LOL.

  2. Martin says:

    That clown is a real Hoot!! LOL… had he stopped and wandered in closer he would have seen a shocking sight….. that of an IMPEACH OBAMA bumper sticker that’s been on my truck since March 2010. Unfortunately, this past Monday while my wife and I were shopping at the Nevada City SPD one of the clown’s Comrades stole it during the 10 minutes we were inside. So much for liberal tolerance and respect for freedom of speech. Not to worry though as another IMPEACH OBAMA sticker replaced the stolen one. These clowns are beginning to sweat hard about November 6, 2012. GOOD!!

  3. Kim Pruett says:

    It is interesting how they show up at various events to spy as though we are trying to hide what we are doing. So lame.

  4. Martin says:

    Exit Question: When was the last time that the local liberal progressive democrat have someone of color like Damon Dunn (the keynote speaker at the Saturday’s REP BBQ) speak at one of their events?

    Information about Damon can be found at: http://www.damondunn.com/

    • Kim Pruett says:

      Damon Dunn has an awesome story, he came from nothing and now is incredibly successful. The American Dream is alive and well. I have met and talked with him several times over the past few years, he is the real deal and a great person. I am so glad he has taken a lot of his time to come to Nevada County and attend our events. I look to see him running for a major statewide office in a few years. Go Damon!

  5. RL Crabb says:

    About ten years ago, I attended the Anarchist’s Bookfair in Golden Gate Park, when I was doing artwork for a libertarian book publisher. While there, I happened by the Anarchist table and was looking through a pile of bumperstickers when one caught my eye. It boldly stated “WHITEY WILL PAY”. It gave me the totally subversive idea to buy a whole bunch of them, and then sneak into the parking lot at the Republican BarBQ and stick one on each car. I approached the anarchist tending the table and asked if I could get a discount for buying in volume, ya know, for the cause. They absolutely refused. Damned capitalist swine anarchists!!!

    • Kim Pruett says:

      Bob, you always make me smile 🙂 thanks for starting my day off with a good laugh. I bet you were quite the rebel back then, hell you still are 🙂 Have a great day, off to Truckee!

  6. Bob says:

    The part about this that I find most amusing is that this Keachie isn’t even smart enough to realize how he as advertised his mental derangement. Now that to me IS funny! Really. I actually stated laughing when I read it. I could just visualize this little pathetic curmudgeon sneaking around the parking lot at the park. I’m still laughing about it.

  7. Bob says:

    I forgot. On another note, Keachie’s comment about the number of Tea Party bumper stickers around town gives me the opportunity to present my challenge. Go to the Safeway, Savemart, and SPD market parking lots and count the Subarus. Divide by the number of cars. Of course , invert! I don’t have to say that. Then go to Briar Patch and do the same. Analysis?

    Bet no one can guess my personal term of reference for Briar Patch.

    • Kim Pruett says:

      I haven’t seen as many Obama stickers as I did in 2008, I have seen quite a few more Ron Paul stickers though.

Leave a Reply

